Adventure

Numbers 14:24 But because my servant Caleb has a different spirit and follows me wholeheartedly, I will bring him into the land he went to, and his descendants will inherit it.

 Prior to God proclaiming His intentions to allow Caleb to enter the land flowing with milk and honey, God directed Moses to send out spies into the land and report back what they found.  Joshua and Caleb were the only men to see the land as good and prosperous…the others saw the danger and obstacles that stood before them if they were to enter the land to claim it.  Joshua and Caleb trusted God’s promises…the others trusted only what they could see!

God has used many hard times in my life to refocus my heart.  I have had times where I trusted my own intuition over God’s direction only to discover that my choice caused me to go down a path that took me away from God (remember Jonah?).  Yet, the most fruitful and joyous times in my life have come from obedience to His promptings in my heart and the direct paths He  laid out in His word.  Some of the most incredible relationships I now have came directly from God giving me a little push to make contact with someone…and whenever I do act upon that nudge, He never ceases to amaze me with the friendships and discipleship that takes place – both in my heart and in my new friend’s heart!  Just gotta listen and act!

How about you?  When God places a difficult situation or a specific person in your path, do you typically see it as an insurmountable obstacle…one in which you see no possible good outcome?  Or do you see an opportunity to trust God and grow closer to Him through the process…possibly forging a new relationship and likely becoming more like His Son?

When we trust God and His word, life begins to make sense.  Through His word, God shows us the priorities we need in our lives – Him first, then our spouse, kids, family, friends, etc.  Simply keeping those priorities would take care of most of society’s problems.  With God first in our lives, it makes sense for us to love our spouses sacrificially, even making them a higher priority than our kids!  With that kind of mutual matrimonial love, divorce would cease to exist and broken families would be a thing of the past.  Kids would not grow up without a parent!  Prisons would close down!  There would be no more loneliness or strife.  Alas, we live in a broken world, so many of these perfect scenarios are reserved for heaven…or are they?  Jesus said we are to live life (here on earth) abundantly!  Maybe keeping these priorities is the key to living a true abundant life….

Caleb did just that!  God had made a promise to deliver the people of Israel to a place that would sustain all their needs and bring joy to them for many generations to come…after all, it is the Promised Land and is still being fought for to this day!    Caleb spied out that land with God’s promise in mind…His view of the land was that of a new property owner scoping out how amazing his new residence will be and the possibilities of a future there.

We could learn a lot from Caleb.  How would your life look if you were to believe the promises of God and live your life as such?  He truly seeks to give you a future and a hope through the plans He has made for you, as is written in Jeremiah 29:11-13.  God’s promises and plans for each of us are a huge puzzle where God somehow, someway, miraculously makes them all fit and come together to fulfill His plan for our lives!  It’s up to you – will you cower in fear of the future and what may come, or will you act upon His promptings and promises and join Him in the grand design He has laid out for your life?  Your God-given adventure awaits!

Check out the lyrics to this song – Already There by Casting Crowns:

From where I’m standing
Lord it’s so hard for me to see
Where this is going
And where You’re leading me

I wish I knew how
All my fears and all my questions
Are gonna play out
In a world I can’t control

When I’m lost in the mystery
To You my future is a memory
Cause You’re already there
You’re already there

Standing at the end of my life
Waiting on the other side
And You’re already there
You’re already there

From where You’re standing
Lord, You see a grand design
That You imagined
When You breathed me into life

And all the chaos
Comes together in Your hands
Like a masterpiece
Of Your picture perfect plan

When I’m lost in the mystery
To You my future is a memory
Cause You’re already there
You’re already there

Standing at the end of my life
Waiting on the other side
And You’re already there
You’re already there

One day I’ll stand before You
And look back on the life I’ve lived
I can’t wait to enjoy the view
And see how all the pieces fit

One day I’ll stand before You
And look back on the life I’ve lived
Cause You’re already there
You’re already there

When I’m lost in the mystery
To You my future is a memory
Cause You’re already there
You’re already there

Standing at the end of my life
Waiting on the other side
And You’re already there
You’re already there

You are already there

Leave a Reply

